Polar Bear, the iconoclastic British post-jazz five-piece, are to return with their fifth album, entitled In Each And Every One (cover pictured left), on24 March 2014, which will be released on the Leaf label on CD and double-vinyl LP. Eschewing the indie-guitar tinged sound of their previous album,Peepers, the far more experimental new set finds the band of drummer/leaderSeb Rochford, saxophonists Pete Wareham and Mark Lockheart, bassist Tom Herbert and laptopist Leafcutter Johnexpanding their core twin-horns meets beats-and-bass attack with ambient soundscapes, bursts of white noise, pulsating grooves and stuttering electronic outbursts. The track-listing runs as follows: ‘Open See’, ‘Be Free’, ‘Chotpot’, ‘They’re All Ks and Qs Lucien’, ‘WW’, ‘Lost in Death Part 2’, ‘Maliana’, ‘Lost in Death Part 1’, ‘Life and Life’, ‘Two Storms’ and ‘Sometimes’.

The group previewed some of the new material at their Bishopsgate Institute gig in October and are set to head out on an extensive series of gigs in spring 2014 with support on most dates from cutting-edge Leeds guitarist Chris Sharkey’s new skronk-funk trio, Shiver, which also features electric bassist Andy Champion and drummer Joost Hendricks, all appearing at the following venues: Band On The Wall, Manchester (20 March); Wardrobe, Leeds (21 March); Thekla, Bristol (22 March); Komedia, Brighton (26 March); Hare & Hounds, Birmingham (27 March); The Space, Nottingham (28 March); XOYO, London (2 Apr); SJE Arts, Oxford (3 April) and Sage, Gateshead Jazz Festival (6 Apr).

Mike Flynn

Tagged with:

Comments are closed.